ICC World Cup 2019: Things you should know about it

ICC World Cup 2019: Things you should know about it

The 2019 Cricket World Cup is the 12th edition of the Cricket World Cup, scheduled to be hosted by England and Wales, from 30 May to 14 July 2019.

The hosting rights were awarded in April 2006, after England and Wales withdrew from the bidding to host the 2015 ICC Cricket World Cup, which was held in Australia and New Zealand. The first match will be played at The Oval while the final will be played at Lord’s. It is the fifth time that the Cricket World Cup will be held in England and Wales, following the 1975, 1979, 1983 and 1999 World Cups.

The format for the tournament will be a single group of ten teams, with each team playing the other nine teams, and the top four teams progressing to a knockout stage of semi-finals and a final. The ten team tournament has gained criticism due to the lack of Associate teams in the tournament. Given the increase of the Test playing nations from 10 to 12, with the admission of Ireland and Afghanistan in June 2017, it will be the first World Cup to be contested without all of the Test playing nations being present, and after the elimination of all the Associate teams at the qualifying tournament, this will be also be the first World Cup to feature no Associate members.

Following is the schedule for World Cup 2019 England & Wales:

Below are the latest ranking of ODI, T20, and test matches.

Team Ranking – ODI 

3New Zealand5,788111
4South Africa5,545 111
6Australia 4,290100
7Bangladesh 3,66992
8Sri Lanka 4,42678
9West Indies 2,89972

Team Ranking – Test

2South Africa 4,280110
3New Zealand 3,213107
6Sri Lanka 4,25689
8West Indies 2,99577
9Bangladesh 1,72769
10Zimbabwe 13813

Team Ranking – T20

2India 5,590124
3South Africa 2,960118
4England 2,586118
5Australia 3,266117
6New Zealand3,367116
7West Indies 2,725101
8Afghanistan 2,49092
9Sri Lanka 2,58086
10Bangladesh 2,32177

Each team will play a total of 9 games in England and whales. As per current ICC ranking in test India is at the top with 5007
points followed by South Africa and New Zealand and Bangladesh and Zimbabwe at the bottom.

In ODI England is leading followed by India and New Zealand and in the T20 Pakistan is at the top. All the team have very few matches left in there hands to select there playing 11 for World Cup 2019. The tournament will get started on 30th May 2019 between the host country I.e. England and South Africa in The Oval. India will play it’s first match on 5th of June against South Africa. Finals will be played at the historic ground in London I.e. Lords. India would be eyeing to win the world cup same as the won ICC Champions Trophy previously they visited in a London for ICC Tournament.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *